News Briefs from Rockton & Roscoe: 2/8/2022


Rockton Police Blotter

At the Village of Rockton's Feb. 1 meeting, which was covered by reporter Marianne Mueller, Trustee Jodi May gave a summary of recent police activity. Between Jan. 16-Jan. 31 the police made 136 traffic stops, gave 89 warnings, and issued 47 traffic tickets. They made four criminal arrests. Seven traffic accidents occurred; one resulting in injuries. In the month of January, the Rockton Police issued 32 snow parking violation tickets. At the meeting, the Village Board also approved a MFT (Motor Fuel Tax) resolution for $1,381. And they talked about yetis and Fibs

Yeti Sightings

Rockton's Yeti Fest begins Wednesday, Feb. 9-12, and includes snow sculpting, a yeti scavenger hunt, an adults only onesie pub crawl (wear footie pajamas if you don't own a onesie), family-friendly hot cocoa crawl. We recently published a story about it. The event coincides with Galentine's Day in Downtown Rockton on Feb. 12 (did you think it would be Feb. 14?) 

I got to take pictures at a rehearsal of CYT's Madagascar: A Musical Adventure Jr. which runs Feb. 11-13 at Hononegah Performing Arts Center, and I was quite impressed. These kids have had a lot of experience and training. More importantly, I enjoyed myself. Read my review and get tickets for this weekend.

Stateline Chamber announces winners

The winners of the Stateline Chamber's 2022 Awards Gala are:

  • New Business of the Year • Radiance by Roxanne
  • Small Business of the Year • Martin Exteriors
  • Large Business of the Year • Rock Valley Credit Union
  • Pride of the Stateline • Beloit Sky Carp
  • Community Service • APEX General Contracting
  • Ambassador of the Year • Lea Evers
  • Chamber Champion • George Pleshkewych
  • Cyndy Fogerty Lifetime Achievement • Eric Flohr

Making the Dean's List at Augustana College

Augustana College in Rock Island, IL has announced that six Roscoe students and one Rockton student were named to the Dean's List for the 2021-22 fall semester. Augustana College's distinguished alumni include a 1998 Nobel Prize winner in Physics and the CEO of Sara Lee and Pepsi-Cola North America. And if I'm reading this correctly, 1,000 out of 2,500 students made the Dean's List last semester by earning at least a 3.5 grade point average, including:


  • Jordan Thompson


  • Jacob Lyford
  • Amedeo Carmine
  • Andrew Baxter
  • Alison Lawrence
  • Andrew Frieden
  • Bryn Hansmeier
I'm interested
I disagree with this
This is not local
This is unverified