Hononegah Community High School board members sworn in


The Hononegah school board (back row, L-R) Eric Flohr, Jim Minard, Bob Geddeis, Mary Lewis, Dave Kurlinkus, (front, L-R) Evan Schoepski, Gail Haab

At the April 19 Hononegah Community High School Board of Education meeting, Eric Flohr was appointed as president pro tem so he could swear in Dave Kurlinkus, Mary Lewis, Evan Schoepski and Gayle Haab after the April 4 election results were declared.

Once the four reelected board members were sworn in, the board voted to name David Kurlinkus as Board President once again, and Mary Lewis as Vice President. Bob Geddeis will remain in the position of Board Secretary. Eric Flohr and Jim Minard are the other two school board members.

David Kurlinkus has been on the Board for 28 years, 26 of which he has served as President. He is the chair of the board's Legislative committee and is a delegate to the Special Education Cooperative Governing Board, along with Bob Geddeis.

Mary Lewis has served four terms on the HCHS board. Lewis is the chair of the Co-Curricular committee, and works on Enrollment, Growth and Development.

Evan Schoepski has been on the HCHS school board for 10 months after being appointed to a vacant seat in May 2022. He will now finish out a full term until 2027. Schoepski is the chair of Enrollment, Growth and Development, and the co-chair of the Education committee.

Gayle Haab filled a vacancy on the board in the Fall 2022 after a board member moved out of the district. After the April 4 election, Haab will now serve an additional two-year term. Haab is a 1970-1974 alumni of HCHS. Haab is the co-chair of the board's Co-Curricular committee and is the chair of the Education committee.

Next on the meeting agenda [PDF], the board began by ratifying existing policies. They also established that meetings will be held on the third Wednesday of each month at 7 p.m., to be held in the Hononegah High School library.

I'm interested
I disagree with this
This is unverified