Winnebago County approves new County Board district map


Paul Arena, District 7, told the Winnebago County Board that he believes the new district map "fairly represents the citizens of Winnebago County."

The new district boundaries for Winnebago County Board, approved at their Dec. 21 meeting, mean a few changes for residents of Roscoe, Rockton, and South Beloit. While Rockford's population decreased since the 2010 Census, north Winnebago County increased in population, including both Rockton and Roscoe. The goal was for each district to have approximately the same number of residents. 

Paul Arena, representing District 7, helped lead the reapportionment process. At the Dec. 21 board meeting, he thanked his colleagues and said, "We've done the best we could to create a map that fairly represents the citizens of Winnebago County and hopefully everyone is comfortable with what we've done here." 

Unlike the Illinois state redistricting maps, which were primarily created by Democratic legislators, the Winnebago County map was drawn by a third party consultant before being tweaked by county board members from both political parties. Arena credited attorney Phillip A. Luetkehans and others for "creating a map that would be legal and fair to everyone." 

District 2, represented by Jim Webster, includes downtown Rockton, Hononegah Community High School, Rockton Athletic Fields, Pinecroft, Winfield, and Macktown Forest Preserve. The boundaries of District 2 include parts of Roscoe Road, Owen Center Road, Highway 75, Old River Road, Prairie Hill, South Bluff Road, Dorr Road, the Rock River, and Old Meadow Road.

District 3, represented by Steve Schultz, includes downtown Roscoe east to 90 and west to Old River Road. Its eastern border runs south along 251 to Ralston Road/173. It encompasses Hononegah Forest Preserve, Kelly Myers Park, Goldie B. Floberg Center, Riverside Park, Roscoe Middle School, and Schnucks.

District 4, represented by Brad Lindmark, includes South Beloit, Rockton Road east of Dorr Road, Walmart in Roscoe, Farm & Fleet in Rockton, NorthPointe Wellness, Ledgewood and Stone Creek Schools, and Hidden Creek Estates. Boundaries include parts of Dorr Road, I-90, McCurry Road, and Prairie Hill Road.

The boundaries of District 7, represented by Paul Arena, extend from Lovesee Road at the county line west to 251 and Belvidere Road. The boundaries continue south on 251 to Forest Hills Road, Perryville and 173, and Perryville and Broadcast Parkway. District 7 includes Sagewood, Hinkle's Wooded Acres, Kieselburg Forest Preserve, and Rock Cut State Park.

Northern Winnebago County districts, 2021. Pink = 2, Gold = 4, Green = 3, Pink = 7, Yellow = 1, Purple = 5
Previous 2011 north Winnebago County district map
New 2021 Winnebago County district map
I'm interested
I disagree with this
This is not local
This is unverified