Mid-term elections: voters go to the polls


Voting booths ready for the election, Winnebago County, IL, June 2022

Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2022, from 6:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. In Illinois, early voting ran from Oct. 24 and ended on Nov. 7.

Rockton-Roscoe News talked to the candidates in the most local contested races - read what we found out: Winnebago County Treasurer, Winnebago County Coroner, Winnebago County Board District 2 (Rockton), and Illinois Senate District 45.

You can find your polling place on the list, using the precinct number on your voter registration card. Or using your address, look up your polling place online. Most polling places will be serving voters from more than one precinct, but the poll workers can direct you to the correct table.

All candidates are listed in alphabetical order.


Winnebago County Treasurer: Sue Goral, Steve Schultz

Winnebago County Coroner: Tony Gasparini, Jennifer Muraski

Winnebago County Board District 2 (Rockton): Lindsey Lancaster, Jim Webster


16th Congress: Darin LaHood, Lisa Haderlein

Senate: Tammy Duckworth, Bill Redpath, Kathy Salvi


Illinois Senate District 45: Andrew Chesney, Gerald Podraza

Governor: Darren Bailey, J. B. Pritzker, Scott Schluter

Secretary of State: Dan Brady, Alexi Giannoulias, Jon Stewart

Attorney General: Thomas DeVore, Kwame Raoul, Daniel Robin

Comptroller: Deirdre McCloskey, Susana Mendoza, Shannon Teresi

Treasurer: Tom Demmer, Mike Frerichs, Preston Nelson

In some races, you don't even have to choose one of the names of the ballot - there are also a few valid write-in candidates [PDF].

Several Republican candidates have no Democratic opponents in this election, including John Cabello for Illinois House District 90, Sheriff Gary Caruana, County Clerk Lori Gummow, and some of our candidates for County Board, such as John Guevara (District 3) and Brad Lindmark (District 4). 

Voters will also be asked to vote on a proposed Illinois Constitutional Amendment 1 - Right to Collective Bargaining Measure.

Winnebago County Clerk Lori Gummow is determined to run an efficient, fair election, with the help of some of the kindest but most detail-oriented people in the county. (Want to help with the next election?

The vote tallying machines are not connected to the internet. Every voter's signature is verified at the polling place by two election judges/your neighbors, one from each major party. Illinois does not require you to show your ID, though if your signature has changed, you ought to bring one. You can use a touchscreen to print your paper ballot if you want, but your ballot is tallied when you slide it into the slot on the machine. A permanent paper record is kept, by law, of each ballot.

Gummow reminds voters that electioneering and campaigning is not allowed within 100 feet of a polling place. (So when you go to your polling place, don't wear your favorite candidate's hat or t-shirt. And it's polite to leave your favorite stuffed elephant or donkey at home.)

If you requested a Vote By Mail ballot, your ballot must be mailed, you cannot use it to vote at your polling place. If you changed your mind and now want to vote in person, the election official at your precinct will mark your ballot "spoiled" and give you a new ballot. You can still mail it. Gummow says, "As long as it's postmarked November 8th (or earlier) we have up to two weeks to count it."

The next consolidated election will be held April 4, 2023, which will include village trustees and school board members. The first day to circulate nominating petitions for those positions was September 20, 2022, so some people are already gearing up.

I'm interested
I disagree with this
This is unverified