General Primary Election


Photo: WQAD

Share this post!

6:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m.

Elections are held in a polling place near you.

Almost all our local elections will be decided in the Republican primary. Except for three precinct committeepersons candidates, all our local candidates are running as Republicans.

Gov. J.B. Pritzker has only one rival in the Democratic primary, Beverly Miles, but six Republicans are vying for the chance to run against him in November: Darren BaileyRichard C. IrvinGary RabinePaul SchimpfMax Solomon, and Jesse Sullivan.

During this midterm election year, all seats in the House of Representatives are contested, including the 16th District, which includes the Stateline area. Candidates in the Republican primary for the 16th District are Darin LaHood, JoAnne Guillemette, Walt Peters, and Michael Rebresh. Adam Kinzinger is not seeking reelection. There are no Democratic candidates for the seat.

In the Senate Republican primary, Bobby Piton, Peggy Hubbard, Casey Chlebek, Matt Dubiel, Jimmy Lee Tillman II, Kathy Salvi, and Anthony Williams are competing to run against Democratic Senator Tammy Duckworth. Senator Duckworth is the only Democratic candidate, while Bill Redpath is the only Libertarian candidate.

After redistricting for the Illinois General Assembly, Rockton and Roscoe will be part of Illinois House of Representatives District 90, currently represented by Tom Demmer, and Illinois State Senate District 45, currently held by Brian StewartAndrew Chesney is running unopposed for Illinois Senate District 45, both in the primary and in the November election. John Cabello is running for Illinois House District 90 against Roscoe Village President Mark Szula.

Election Day is Tuesday, November 8, 2022.

Winnebago County Clerk
Rockford, IL
United States

I'm interested
I disagree with this
This is unverified