Winnebago County Board approves new voting precinct boundaries


Voting precincts, Rockton Township, 2022

The Winnebago County Board approved its Reapportionment Plan for the county districts on December 21, 2021. Following this approval, county board members unanimously passed the updated county election precincts at the Jan. 13, 2022 county board meeting.

Every 10 years the U.S. Census Bureau conducts the Decennial Census, which tracks the population increase or decrease of the United States of America. It determines the political representation based off of the population for the various levels of government, from federal and state to local governments.

“These boundaries are established to balance the number of registered voters among the precincts and to better ensure that registered voters have the appropriate voting ballot when elections occur,” said Winnebago County Clerk Lori Gummow.

Where a person lives determines what appears on their ballot. Residents of Rockton Township, for example, can vote for the township board, while residents of the Village of Rockton can also vote for the village board.

Winnebago County will now consist of 94 precincts stretched across 14 townships.

The complete packet from the Jan. 13 board meeting, including updated precincts, can be downloaded from the Winnebago County website.

The next County Board meeting is scheduled for Thursday, January 27 at 6 p.m. and can be visited in person or viewed on the county's YouTube channel.

See below for new precinct maps for Rockton Township and Roscoe Township.

I'm interested
I disagree with this
This is not local
This is unverified