Hononegah Community High School Students earn honors


Hononegah Honors Night, May 15, 2023, Rockton, IL

Hononegah Community High School's Performing Arts Center stage was a place to celebrate student accomplishments in academics, athletics, sportsmanship, music, leadership and community service on Monday evening, May 15, 2023.

To begin Honors Night, Principal Chad Dougherty gave a warm welcome, and addressed students. “I want what is best for the future, and these honors put you on the right path. Student performance showed grit and determination in challenging yourselves,” Dougherty said.

He added, “Don't strive for perfection.”

Dougherty thanked parents and families. “We have been fortunate enough to share them,” he said.

Dougherty credited Kelly Rosik for her hard work in organizing the 2023 Honors Night.

Athletic Director Steve Cofoid presented Kaylee Goldhagen and Chase Kemmet with the George Kelsey Award. Cofoid shared that George Kelsey was a three sport athlete whose name now appears on the school's football field. Each of the winners demonstrate many of the same qualities that Mr. Kelsey did.

Marine recruiter Staff Sgt. Dylan Hill awarded Jeremiah Olson and Indigo Sterud with the United States Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award. “We are looking for a few good men and women,” Sgt. Hill said.

Jason McAllister was recognized with the Marines Scholastic Excellence award.

Sarah White was honored with the Semper Fidelis Band Award. This award is sponsored by the United States Marines Youth Foundation and the Marine Corps League. The tradition of Marine Corps music dates back to 1793.

AMC 12 School Winner: Austin Kirwin who also won the Mathematics League Certificate of Merit.

Mathematics AP Scholars were Abigail Barnhardt, Amber Goldhagen, Kaylee Goldhagen, Makenna Hughes, Solomon Keip, Austin Kirwin, Autumn Mohring, Christopher Myers, Jason McAllister, Micah Samuel, Andrew Scharlou, and Wolfgang Vergara.

Former HCHS teacher and alumnus Howard Harshbarger presented the Senior Math Award to Austin Kirwin. Mr. Harshbarger gave a brief history of HCHS. When the school first opened, they had 200 students in comparison to today's 1,800 students. Over time the school also has seen a large increase from the original 12 teachers, bus drivers and other staff.

Excellence in French Awards: Jenna Brown. Kaylee Goldhagen and Juan Neira.

Excellence in Spanish Award winners: Casey Bohn, William Eiss, Olivia Gibson, Makenna Hughes, Solomon Keip, Grace Stuckey and Natalie Zeiter.

Excellence in English Award winners: Karlie Anderson, Jennifer Metz and Wolfgang Vergara.

Alex (Stephen) Marshall received honors with the US History Award.

Kyra Lewis was the winner of the Senior Social Studies Award.

Luke Laudicina was the recipient of the DAR (Daughters of the American Revolution) Outstanding United States History Award.

Kary Krebs of the Rockton American Legion Post #332 presented a flag to exchange student Kimi Grzybek.

American Legion School Award winners were Karlie Anderson and John (Lyons) Buckley.

Stephen (Alex) Marshal was Outstanding Biology Student.

Jeff Smith, and Autumn Mohring were Outstanding Physics Students.

Jacqueline Chen was recognized as Outstanding Environmental Science Student and received the Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award.

Kaiwen Gao was Outstanding Chemistry Student.

Jason McAllister was the Illinois Science Teaching Association recipient.

Micah Samuel was the American Society of Metals Outstanding Student.

Science AP Scholars are Luke Alberstett, Alexix Bach, Jackson Benson, Kayden Buchko, Amber Goldhagen, Kaylee Goldhagen, Dain Hamilton, Austin Kirwin, Micheal Long, Jason McAllister, Autumn Mohring, Micah Samuel, and Amanda Williams.

Michael Lawyer made a special presentation to Student Body President Magen Franklin. Lawyer gave kudos to Franklin for being consistent and active, while attending endless meetings. He called Franklin a strong leader and a role model for other students. Mr. Lawyer presented Franklin with a special gavel to commemorate her time as Student Body President.

Excellence in Graphic Design awards went to Autumn Mohring, and Paige Williams.

Addison Hankins and Olivia Stewart were recognized for Excellence in Business.

Excellence in Family & Consumer Science: Bailey Anderson and Aina Calatayud Vicens.

Excellence in Engineering: Brayden Foss and John Taylor.

Excellence in Construction: Elliott Diemel and Braydon Foss.

Excellence in Automotive Technology: Logan Gensler and Trevor Jepson.

Sons of the American Revolution: Karlie Anderson.

DAR Good Citizenship Award: John (Lyons) Buckley.

Principal Dougherty named the students who received the National Merit Letter of Commendation: Abigail Barnhardt, Dain Hamilton, Austin Kirwin, Jason McAllister, Autumn Mohring, Micah Samuel, and Wolfgang Vergara.

Following the ceremony, a nice reception was held in the Performing Arts Center lobby to celebrate all of the students' accomplishments that were recognized at the 2023 Honors Night.

More News from Rockton
I'm interested
I disagree with this
This is unverified